D. Bowers - lean and meanThe National Football League announced today the names of 56 players who have been granted special eligibility for the 2011 NFL Draft on April 28-30 at Radio City Music Hall in New York.  Here is the league’s official release.

The NFL Draft will start in primetime for the second consecutive year.  The first round will be held on Thursday, April 28.  The second and third rounds are set for Friday, April 29.  Rounds 4-7 will be held on Saturday, April 30. The entire NFL Draft will be televised by NFL Network and ESPN.

Each of the 56 players has met the league’s three-year eligibility rule and each has submitted a written application in which he renounced his remaining college football eligibility.  The deadline for receiving applications was January 15.

The players granted special eligibility for the NFL Draft the past 10 years:

Year Players Granted Special Eligibility Year Players Granted Special Eligibility
2011 56 2006 52
2010 53 2005 51
2009 46 2004 43
2008 53 2003 47
2007 40 2002 38

The players granted special eligibility for the 2011 NFL Draft:

Player Pos. College
Adams, Darvin WR Auburn
Austin, Marvin DT North Carolina
Ayers, Akeem LB UCLA
Baldwin, Jon WR Pittsburgh
Bowers, Da’Quan DE Clemson
Brown, DeAndre WR Southern Mississippi
Burton, Brandon DB Utah
Casey, Jurrell DT Southern California
Clay, John RB Wisconsin
Claytor, Nick T Georgia Tech
Cobb, Randall WR Kentucky
Dareus, Marcell DE Alabama
Doss, Tandon WR Indiana
Evans, Darren RB Virginia Tech
Fairley, Nick DT Auburn
Gabbert, Blaine QB Missouri
Green, A.J. WR Georgia
Gurley, Tori WR South Carolina
Guy, Lawrence DT Arizona State
Hamler, Jamel WR Fresno State
Harper, Jamie RB Clemson
Harris, Brandon DB Miami
Hill, Will DB Florida
Houston, Justin LB Georgia
Hynoski, Henry RB Pittsburgh
Ingram, Mark RB Alabama
Jones, Julio WR Álabama
Keiser, Thomas LB Stanford
Leshoure, Mikel RB Illinois
Lewis, Dion RB Pittsburgh
Lewis, Javes DB Oregon
Little, Greg WR North Carolina
Liuget, Corey DT Illinois
Mallett, Ryan QB Arkansas
Moore, Rahim DB UCLA
Newton, Cam QB Auburn
Parr, Zane DE Virginia
Peterson, Patrick DB Louisiana State
Quinn, Robert DE North Carolina
Ridley, Stevan RB Louisiana State
Rodgers, Jacquizz RB Oregon State
Rudolph, Kyle TE Notre Dame
Sands, Robert DB West Virginia
Sash, Tyler DB Iowa
Siliga, Sealver DT Utah
Smith, Aldon DE Missouri
Smith, Torrey WR Maryland
Smith, Tyron T Southern California
Tarrant, Jerrard DB Georgia Tech
Todman, Jordan RB Connecticut
Vereen, Shane RB California
Watt, J.J. DE Wisconsin
Wilkerson, Muhammad DT Temple
Williams, Aaron DB Texas
Williams, Ryan RB Virginia Tech
Wilson, Martez LB Illinois

# # #